Georgia O’Keefe Made Me Do It…

Well, this is it…my first blog post. Although I’ve been writing for years, I’ve been able to keep away from that distant din of putting a substantial amount of my own musings into a blog for the world to see; sure I post on Facebook, but that’s just for a few friends and some family to see, right? Anyway, what finally drove me here to jump on the ole blog wagon?

Georgia O’Keefe.

I stumbled upon a quote of hers yesterday, and it struck a chord with me. I’ll share it with you and see if she is as persuasive. She said:

“I’ve been absolutely terrified every moment of my life and I’ve never let it keep me from doing a single thing I wanted to do.”

The difference between Georgia and me, yesterday, was that I was allowing that fear to keep me from doing a lot of things I wanted to do. I’m in the process of figuring out why – and writing is as good a way as any. So today I’m beginning anew – I’ve done one thing that I’ve held back from for many years – writing a blog. The other thing I need to tackle is my procrastination from my art. On occasion, I’ll create a new piece of art, but not for shear pleasure. I get asked to do it, because at one time I was showing my art, selling, and teaching art classes. Somewhere along the way, I lost my passion for it – and I miss that and am trying to get it back. However, it’s not easy when you have a history of disappointments, granted their were a lot of positives, that tarnished the glitter off of that person that I was thirty years ago who thought she was going to take the art world by storm.

Here’s a poem that I wrote about this very thing, “Lost Art,” published in Bird’s Eye reView this past January.

So, here I am writing in a public forum about something that terrifies me into procrastination everyday. Thanks Georgia O’Keefe.

An acrylic painting I did for a friend last year

 

2 thoughts on “Georgia O’Keefe Made Me Do It…

Leave a Reply

