Writing Prompt Pit Stop

Welcome to the Writing Prompt Pit Stop. I’ve dilly-dallied around long enough with my self-proclaimed “…Year of Visual Art,” and have let my blog lapse…again. So, I’m taking up a new tactic. Since it’s writing that I spend the most time on, my own personal writing, teaching creative writing classes at all levels, and facilitating creative writing groups, I figure it’s more natural for me to write my blog about writing – and include a little something for interested readers to use on their own.

My first post of “Writing Prompt Pit Stop,” is a writing recipe of sorts. Certainly, one “recipe” doesn’t fit all writing, but in this case I feel I have one that fits nicely.

“Cooking Up a Poem or an Essay”

Take out a clean sheet of paper, or open a new file.

Decide if you’re cooking up a poem or an essay.

Add in your idea – this week, Paula Deen might be an interesting ingredient.

Pour in some seasoned insights.

Mix in some buttery humor, or a dollop of satire.

Stir up some salty questions.

Toss in as many favorite food references as possible.

Combine all ingredients, keep cooking your poem or essay until done, but don’t leave your creation half-baked.

Top it with a honey of a title.

Revise to taste.

Serve it to your audience.

I hope you cook up something that you enjoy! If you’d like to see more – check back each week. My plan is to post a writing prompt of some type in my Writing Prompt Pit Stop once a week – on Wednesdays.

If you’d like to check out some of my writing you can do so here, or you check out my website here. Don’t hesitate to contact me with questions or comments.

Lylanne

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

