Writing Prompt Pit Stop

Welcome to another Writing Prompt Pit Stop! This week I’ve had a lot of different ideas that would make for good writing prompts (with so much news and events happening since I last posted). Even in the past few hours there’s been a lot happening all around the world. So if you aren’t already, be observant of your surroundings at all times and you can fill your daybook (journal) with tons of prompts.  Nevertheless, I know I enjoy stumbling upon prompts that I hadn’t thought of or that are written in a different way, and that is why I’m posting here for anyone that wants to follow along.

Last weekend Company of Women, the small poetry ensemble that I’m a part of, was invited to read from our new book, Company of Women: New & Selected Poems (Chatter House Press, 2013), at Women & Children First Bookstore, in Chicago, IL.

Image

Obviously, anytime I get to read in Chicago is a coup! So what does this have to do with a writing prompt, you ask? Well, Chicago is one of my favorite cities in the U.S., and I’ve visited a lot of others over the years. What came to me while there was this line that I will use: Chicago – What a Love Affair.  There’s just something about that city that gives me a whole array of feelings, memories, hopes, and dreams.

Image

You may have a similar place – it may be a city, like Chicago is for me, or it may be a quiet rural spot, a favorite park, river, or tree, someplace that boosts your spirits and sparks your creativity. With this in mind, here’s your second prompt:

“(Name Your Place) – What a Love Affair”

If you can, take yourself to your favorite place – physically or by looking at photos.

Freewrite any feelings, experiences, and dreams that come to mind.

Once you get enough written to work with (you could feasibly turn this into a poem, essay, or a piece of flash fiction) start playing with words associated with love (not necessarily using such an abstract word as love itself) and see if you can come up with a “love letter” to your favorite place.  All three genres of creative writing can be written in letter form…and writing letters is becoming a lost art! So be innovative – be funny, be serious, be you!

As with all writing, it should be fun! If you ever want to share any successes or attempts that you get from these prompts, don’t hesitate to let me know. You can contact me here.

Look for another prompt next Wednesday! Until then, keep writing!

Leave a Reply

