Writing Prompt Pit Stop

Welcome to Writing Prompt Pit Stop! This week the prompt is going to be short and sweet because my laptop has been out of commission one week tomorrow  – the adapter cord got fried during a power surge! Thankfully, it did not harm the laptop – which this has been a reminder to back everything up just in case. So while I’m waiting on the new adapter cord to arrive, I’ve realized how much I rely on that laptop…almost like my left hand. I’m working on my not as comfy and not as in sync desktop computer that I hadn’t turned on in three years!!

If you’re like me you use technology without even thinking about it everyday. And, I not only depend on it to keep in touch with loved ones and friends, I revise my poetry on my laptop, use it as my printing/scanning hub, write this blog, and as an adjunct instructor I not only use technology as a teaching tool, but as an online instructor it’s integral to my livelihood. Oh, and I upload all of my photos from my digital camera…and the list goes on and on.

Some of you may be much younger than me and have never been without depending on all available technology. I am of that generation that grew into adulthood without computers and cell phones, but then when they were introduced quickly became adept and loved it. So for you younger ones, to be without any technology would most likely be a total void. Where as I know I can live without it, it’s just a big inconvenience! Then there’s people like my parents that barely can utilize a cell phone – who don’t care to set up their voicemail on it, and who refuse to even try the internet – let alone have a computer in their home. How can they live, right? They do certainly miss out on a lot more communication because if they were hooked up they’d be able to email, FB, and text…but then again, maybe it’s all fine the way it is.

Nevertheless, the thought of being without technology and the fried adapter cord prompted this week’s prompt. Let’s get to it right now: your sixteenth prompt:

“Living Life Unplugged”

1) Write in your daybook about a time when you were totally unplugged from technology. Maybe it was when you were a kid growing up and computers and phones without cords were something out of science fiction. Maybe it was last week at a campground (but I doubt it, as we all have cellphones everywhere!), or maybe you’re someone like my parents and don’t utilize all of the gadgets available these days.

2) Write what it would be like to live in a world today…as we know it…and all cellphones, computers, laptops, video games, GPS systems, DVRs, etc. were all gone…all that’s left: three or four channels on TV and the only phones that work are those old fashioned kind…hooked to a wall, or in a phone booth…remember those?

3) Pick one of the above prompts and write for 10 minutes or until you exhaust the subject.  Add in as much detail and description of what is going on all around you in either scenario as you can. Surprise yourself with things that you remember, or things that you imagine.

4) Choose one of the four genres: Fiction, Poetry, Creative Nonfiction or Plays, as these prompts will fall into any of them easily, and then write even more, revise, write some more, and revise again!

As with all writing, this “unplugged” writing should be fun! And I remind you that if you ever want to share any successes or attempts that you get from these prompts, don’t hesitate to let me know. You can contact me here.

Look for another prompt next Wednesday! Until then, keep writing!

Lylanne

Leave a Reply

