Writing Prompt Pit Stop

Welcome to Writing Prompt Pit Stop! We’re a couple of weeks into the new year and it’s back to school week for me. I never mind that though as I enjoy teaching. and this semester I have three creative writing classes that I get the pleasure of teaching – so that’s a bonus!

Today, in one of those classes, we got on the subject of music – which if you’ve followed my blog for long – you know always lends itself well to creative writing. The conversation became energized with each one of us talking about the first album/record that we remember owning or purchasing on our own, and then that led into the first concert that we each attended. Personally, my first album was Rubber Soul by The Beatles in 1966.

rubber_soul_album

I had a lot of records by the time I was in 8th grade in 1970, but the first 45 RPM that I remember buying on my own was purchased when I walked to Hogan’s Drugstore, in my hometown, where there was a limited selection of records. However, the money was “burning a hole” in my pocket and I wanted a new record – so I picked the best one of the handful…“Teach Your Children Well” by Crosby, Stills, Nash, and Young.

The first concert I ever attended was in Fort Wayne, Indiana at The Coliseum. The year was 1973, and the group was America. Do you remember their songs? Perhaps, “A Horse With No Name,” “Sister Golden Hair,” “Ventura Highway,” “Lonely People,” or “I Need You,” sound familiar….

It was a lot of fun talking about these memories and shared experiences…even if some of our experiences were decades apart! But you can bet that I asked my students (and I joined in as well) to pick up their pens and write about one of those “first” musical memories in detail. And, I’m going to prompt you to do the same thing! Here is your twenty-ninth prompt:

“A Round of Musical Firsts”

1) In your daybook write about the first album and/or the first single that you were ever gifted or purchased on your own. Why that particular album, song, or band/singer? How old were you? What connections do you make with that time in your life with this particular album/song/band/singer? Write on that for 10 minutes or until you exhaust the topic.

2) Write about the first concert that you ever attended. Who did you see? Who were you with? Where was the concert? What do you remember about the event? How old where you? Did anything funny happen? Was it an emotional experience? Was this the first of a long line of concerts attended, or did you somehow get out of going to concerts? How did those other concerts compare to that first time? If you stopped attending concerts…why?

3) Write about an album that you wanted desperately, but never purchased for one reason or another. Not enough funds? Another album came out and you got it instead? You were too young to buy it on your own and your parents wouldn’t buy it for one reason or another….

4) As always, once you have “finished” your writing, remember to revise, revise, and then revise again…!

As with all writing, this A Round of Musical Firstswriting should be fun! And I remind you that if you ever want to share any successes or attempts that you get from these prompts, don’t hesitate to let me know. You can contact me here.

Look for another prompt next Wednesday! Until then, keep writing!

Lylanne

Leave a Reply

