Writing Prompt Pit Stop

Welcome to Writing Prompt Pit Stop! I don’t know about you, but I feel 2014 has been an odd year already…and we’re not even a full two-months in yet. I have a hunch as to why it seems like it’s been a hard one to deal with…it seems that every two-three days we’re socked with another snowstorm or deep freeze, and if the sun is out…the wind picks up and blows the snow everywhere. Many places in the Midwest and around the U.S. have broken winter records all over the place, as if Mother Nature was going for the gold. Here in Toledo we’ve had an official 72.7″ of snow (is it any wonder we’re feeling a little put upon?!)…and we’re just 0.5″ from breaking the record which was set in 1977-78…and it looks like it will happen since we have another month of winter…and it has been known to snow in April and beyond. I’m not the only one feeling a little blue this year, it seems that many of my friends and students are talking about how this year seems so much harder too – so it’s not just me. Maybe it’s not just the weather, maybe it’s the climate of our society – it seems a lot of people are pretty grumpy.  But that’s another blog for another time…and maybe we’ll all be a lot more cheerful here in about two months when it’s sunny and 70 degrees, the birds are chirping merrily again, flowers are bursting through and everything looks more colorful than white on white with a splash of dingy gray.

In one of my first posts of 2014, I said that on occasion I would post some of my own photos and then you could utilize them as possible prompts to write a poem, spark a short story, or spur an idea to run with in your writing. I’ve got tons of those lovely white pics that I can share, and hopefully, I won’t be adding on to my 2014 list of winter rant blogs much longer! Here are some photos to use as your 34th prompt(s):

“Winter Blahs”

Image

Snow Again – February 17, 2014

Image

A Hungry Visitor in the Snowstorm – February 17, 2014

 

Image

Buried in the White Stuff Again – February 18, 2014

Image

The Tunnel that I’ve Shoveled Over and Over and Over this Winter – February 18, 2014

Enjoy experimenting with these images. If you don’t like these, maybe look at some of your own pics that you’ve snapped this winter – how do they make you feel?

I will be back next Wednesday with even more writing prompts for you.

I hope that if you ever want to share any successes or attempts that you get from these prompts, that you will let me know. You can contact me here.

Keep writing!

Lylanne

3 thoughts on “Writing Prompt Pit Stop

  1. How can you be tired of winter when it provides such beautiful pictures. Post these again in the summer and we will probably appreciate them more!

Leave a Reply

