Oulipost Assignment #1: Interview

April is National Poetry Month – NaPoMo. For the first time, I’m taking part in Oulipost, which means that I will be writing a poem each day during the month of April and posting it to this blog. And, no, it can’t just be over any old thing! For a definition of what Ouilpo is check here. Along with 82 other official Ouliposters from around the globe (I see that I’m the only one listed from Ohio!) I will be responding to a prompt that is assigned us each day…and we can only work from a daily newspaper. This poetry challenge is sponsored by The Found Poetry Review. I’m looking forward to the challenge and the new work that this endeavor will produce. I hope that you will all follow along with me as I complete this creative journey – and since you’re used to me posting prompts in my weekly Writing Prompt Pit Stop you can step up your game as I will share the daily prompts that I am working on throughout April and you can challenge yourself to write along.

Here is my interview:

1. WHAT EXCITES YOU ABOUT OULIPOST?
LM: I love challenges and this is a perfect one since it combines my love of poetry and word play, and gives it a twist – to work under certain constraints – ones that I most certainly would not give myself (when the prompts go live, you’ll see what I mean!). That means this will push me out of my comfort zone and that can only make for some new growth, which I welcome. In addition, what’s not to be excited about when I will be creating works alongside other poets from around the world. I look forward to “meeting” new friends and fellow poets as well.

2. WHAT, IF ANYTHING, SCARES YOU ABOUT OULIPOST?
LM: The word mathematics! LOL! Math has been my arch nemesis forever, and maybe I can finally face my fears…. Also, I work with limited time anyway because of teaching writing (and all that grading), and teaching some art classes, so this will force me to really be wise with my own time. Who needs sleep anyway?

3. HAVE YOU WRITTEN EXPERIMENTAL OR FOUND POETRY BEFORE? IF
SO, TELL US ABOUT IT.
LM: I have experimented in a few ways before, but not in the recent past. I did create a found poem that I actually liked from a passage of the novel, Caucasia, that I was teaching a few years back, and I’ve also enjoyed cutting up words and titles out of newspapers and magazines and then making a poem out of what I could. Some worked, some didn’t…but it’s all in the process, right?

4. WHAT NEWSPAPER WILL SERVE AS YOUR SOURCE TEXT?
LM: The Toledo Blade

 5. WHO’S YOUR SPIRIT OULIPIAN?                                                                                 LM: I would be remiss if I did not choose Marcel Duchamp. He seems like a great guide, as I am already familiar with him through visual art, his relationships with the Dada and Surrealism movements, and, of course, his humor.

man ray 1920 joseph stella et marcel duchamp fb_473Marcel Duchamp on R (under pic).

4 thoughts on “Oulipost Assignment #1: Interview

  1. Lylanne, congrats to your inclusion. This reminds me of your work with The Exquisite Corpse work at Writer’s Speaks Volumes!. Can’t wait to see what happens.

Leave a Reply

