Oulipost #4: Fibonacci (Variation)

Well, today is day four of Ouliposting…and it happened. The dreaded math word. Math has never been my friend, and at my age I’m not excited about cozying up to it either; however, even I know math and I have to co-exist…and today’s Oulipost prompt has forced me to do just that. With that said, in doing this prompt today I’ve noticed that, at least in the Toledo Blade, every 8th and 13th word seems to be :a, an, of, or some other non-fun word…which made this prompt even more of a challenge. Nevertheless, I pushed through…counting, and counting, and being glad I’m not an accountant. LOL!  After perusing through many articles I settled on using three to come up with this poem (and in each of the three sections I counted up to 34, 233, and 34 respectively); as always, my sources, and the Oulipost prompt follows my poem:

Spring

Spring games

draw crowds

soon for hosts –

erupt

***

This, this

June,

Toledo be

second

to pair

problems,

hours,

direction –

at

foundation.

***

As, as

northwest

Ohioans

open to –

to

rest

rough.

 

Sources:

Briggs, David. “Spring games draw big crowds but could soon be thing of the past.” Toledo Blade 4 Apr. 2014. Web.

Chavez, Jon. “NASA to bring research assistance to Toledo.” Toledo Blade 4 Apr. 2014. Web.

Russell, Rose. “Home prep is key as warm weather offers other challenges.” Toledo Blade 4 Apr. 2014. Web.

Oulipost prompt:

Fibonacci (Variation)

In a Fibonacci sequence, each term is the sum of the two terms immediately preceding it; typically with 1 as the first term: 1, 1, 2, 3, 5,8, 13, 21, 34, 55 and so on.

Select an article from your newspaper and create a poem using the words that correspond with the numbers in the sequence. Your poem will take the form of first word, first word, second word, third word, fifth word, eighth word, thirteenth word, etc. You can continue until you’ve run out of words in your article or until you’re happy with the poem’s conclusion.

See you tomorrow!

4 thoughts on “Oulipost #4: Fibonacci (Variation)

    • Thanks! Believe me, I worked with about 10 different articles before I decided just to work with these three. I did see that it was like every 8th – 13th word was some silly “a” or “of” and it was leaving me with no place to go. I ended up not hating this though! LOL!

Leave a Reply

