Oulipost #16: Chimera

Today’s 16th Oulipost prompt found me scouring the hard copy of The Blade for articles to replace nouns, verbs, and adjectives in a primary article. It took a lot more time than I expected, as I ended up changing the article I intended to use for verbs as the actual article I used for the primary article. Confused? It sure kept me on my toes. As I was replacing nouns, verbs, and adjectives in my poem – I tried to keep the same nouns consistent throughout the piece…which also got harder as I went along. I would have to go back and count where I was in my “new” version to catch what noun I used several lines before…. Nevertheless, as tedious as this one was just finding the words, I did have fun once I started replacing everything with the “new” word choices. Even my title sticks with my new words from the article! The only major changes I made was to change a few of the verb tenses so they fit a bit better…otherwise, I tried to keep as true to the article and the order of the words found as I could. So, below you will find my Chimera poem, the sources used, and the Oulipost prompt:

Toledo Animals Held Surprised Morning Investigators

The Toledo Area Humane Society and few of its good cats

propelled wins for nearly three neighbors on Friday

by a Toledo-better “organization complaint” on its

obvious birth, dogs, and long-term records of litters.

The week-Labrador, shelter-dog-wife organization

complaint, which hits at the morning investigator’s

comment for the fifth female at the Animals of Society

of the Toledo Mother Cat, pitched the society’s

humane Labradors, case kittens, and city case puppies

on conditions of food piles not prepared injuries before

last food walked July 1; dominance of space kennels;

offspring skirmishes among Society Labradors and

The Blade; floor avenues; snapped numbers,

and a surprising season of fresh adoptions.

 

Sources:

Primary Article:

Messina, Ignazio. “State Group Chastises Local Elections Board.” Toledo Blade 16 Apr. 2014. B1/B2. Print.

Nouns:

Mester, Alexandria. “25 Rescued Animals Strain Shelter.” Toledo Blade 16 Apr. 2014. B1/B2. Print.

Verbs:

Blade Staff. “Toledo Gets Hits, Not Victory.” Toledo Blade 16 Apr. 2014. C4. Print.

Adjectives:

Chavez, Jon. “Focaccia’s Market Gets ‘Great Response.'” Toledo Blade 16 Apr. 2014. B6/B7. Print.

Oulipost Prompt:

Chimera

The chimera of Homeric legend – lion’s head, goat’s body, treacherous serpent’s tail – has a less forbidding Oulipian counterpart. It is engendered as follows. Having chosen a newspaper article or other text for treatment, remove its nouns, verbs and adjectives. Replace the nouns with those taken in order from a different work, the verbs with those from a second work, the adjectives with those from a third.

4 thoughts on “Oulipost #16: Chimera

  1. I love that you let yours be as nonsensical as mine was, without alterations. Nonsensical and open to interpretation. That said, I have a hard time making sense out of any of today’s….personal flaw, I guess.

Leave a Reply

