Oulipost #21: Confabulation

On the 21st day of Ouliposting we find ourselves doing the Confabulation. What’s that you ask? Well, it’s taking he said/she said quotes out of the local paper and then turning them into dialogue in a poem. I love dialogue and I love to write plays, and today’s poem was fun to write…once I found any quotes to include out of The Blade. One other prompt we had used quotes…yes, the Quote Centro…and I discovered then that there’s not as much quoting going on in the paper as I expected. Then on other days when I’m not looking for it, there’s tons of it. Go figure. Today was one of those days where I really had to search hard. I did find enough fodder in five articles to come up with something that I can live with. Everything, including the title, came from quotes, in some places I only used half of the quote, and in one line I used a combo of two quotes. Following is my Confabulation poem (and for whatever reason it wouldn’t stay in its original formatting here), the sourced articles, the Oulipost prompt, and the link this time for my fellow Ouliposter’s poems (I forgot to add it yesterday after I said I would!). You can always look at my twitter feed for some of theirs that I retweet.

We Heard an Unusual Play

I

Developed

a little reputation?

 

                                    All over the

                                   city of Toledo.

 

Give something

back.

 

                                  That’s difficult.

I’d rather err

on the side of

being aggressive.

 

                                    On one side or

                                    the other I’ve been

                                    doing this 42 years.

I’ve never seen

it before…

 

                                      But it worked

                                      out for us

                                      today.

 

We weren’t able to

negotiate the right

price.

 

                                     It’s a big year!

 

It goes really

fast.

 

                                  Most exciting part

                                  is to see it shoot off.

 

Those are passions

I would like to take

with me.

 

                                 Anything we could

                                 find that we

                                 really liked…

 

It’s all rocket

science.

 

II

After that

things didn”t

go well?

 

                                    I’m not sure I would

                                     have wanted him to

                                    go home.

 

You know what

the call should be?

 

                                   No, I’m a student

                                    of sloppy angels.

 

Sources:

AP. “Tigers edge sloppy Angels.” Toledo Blade 21 Apr. 2014. Web.

Blade Staff. “Bedford Branch library marks local, Monroe county anniversaries.” Toledo Blade 21 Apr. 2014. Web.

Mester, Alexandria. “Pit Bull rescue finds home for itself.” Toledo Blade 21 Apr. 2014. Web.

Troy, Tom. “3 Democrats vie for judgeship.” Toledo Blade 21 Apr. 2014. Web.

Trusso, Natalie. “2 Northview teams selected for finals of rocketing competition in Washington.” Toledo Blade 21 Apr. 2014. Web.

Oulipost prompt:

Confabulation

Craft a conversation poem using “he said/she said” quotes that you find in newspaper articles.

Link to Ouliposters Confabulation Poems:

http://www.foundpoetryreview.com/blog/oulipost-21-confabulation/

See you tomorrow!

One thought on “Oulipost #21: Confabulation

Leave a Reply

