Writing Prompt Pit Stop: Crash & Burn

Welcome to Writing Prompt Pit Stop! Well, today is not Wednesday, it’s Saturday…so a bit later than usual with my post, but that’s okay because I’m here now, writing, and because sometimes change is good! So, if you’ve visited my blog much you’ve undoubtedly figured out that this summer (and this entire 2014) has been one of a lot of hurdles for me. We had that worst winter ever here in Toledo with more snow that one could have imagined, there’s been deaths of people that have meant a lot to me in the past, there’s been promise of a full-time position yanked (two years in a row) because of low funding, there’s been my own low funding because of my adjuncting circumstances, there’s been that break-in at my house just a month ago, and then this past weekend, we here in Toledo, OH, could not drink, bathe, etc., in our water because of toxins from Lake Erie...some of you may have been aware since it made national, and I hear international, news. I will say that is something I didn’t think I’d see…a city in America, one that I live in no less, that is not able to drink the water…. 

Hence, I’ve just needed some down time…and not to mention it was the end of the summer semester this week, so I’ve been grading as well…and that’s the scoop on how how I’ve been living lately. Then, the night before last I had another of my recurring dreams that I’ve had over the years…usually, it’s a plane crash. I see it from a distance, sometimes it’s a major jetliner, other times it’s a small plane…very rarely am I inside as the plane is going down, but that’s happened too. This time it was a new spin, so to speak…it was the Goodyear Blimp…it was off in the distance, and it was making some crazy dips in the sky, and I knew it was going to crash, but I couldn’t take my eyes off of it…then it would bounce back up high in the sky and dip again lower…and lower…until it went behind some trees…and then there was the plume of smoke and then the flames from behind the trees…in my dream I felt that helplessness and panic, and the crying. Then I woke up.

I used to think that those dreams meant I shouldn’t fly, but I’ve since learned that those plane crash (and now blimps of all things!) dreams mean that my life is out of control. I think that’s a pretty good explanation actually. However, I have been taking steps to make some changes in my life, and that helps give me hope…which is something I feel that I’d lost in the past month or so. Hope is an important thing! Next Wednesday, I will write about all of the good things that have happened this year, because out of all of these dismal events and occurrences of 2014, there has been a lot of good things happen and I’m well aware of those, plus of all the good things to come…which is my hope kicking in!

So in this 51st post here are the prompts for this week:

“Dream Weaving”

1) In your daybook write about a recurring dream that you have. What is the focus of that dream? When do you find that you have these dreams? What happens in your dream? Does it change from time to time? Have you read up on what the dreams mean?

2) Have you ever had a dream that came true? When was it? What was it about? How close to the actual dream did the events occur? Have you ever changed plans because of a dream you had? Have you ever tried something new because of a dream you had?

3) So, what would you do if you could not drink, bathe, brush your teeth, do laundry, with your city water/water source? It sounds like something out of a novel or a movie doesn’t it? Write about that or some other natural resource that we take for granted…and then it’s gone. It could be from your viewpoint, or from a character’s viewpoint that you’re working with.

4) Write about a stretch of time that it seemed that life was going against you. What happened? How did your circumstances change? Do you think these times occur naturally or do you think in some ways we bring them on ourselves? Write on that for a while and see what comes out for you or your character.

5) Take any of these prompts and write on them for at least 10 minutes or until you exhaust the topic. Any of the prompts can lend themselves to a piece of poetry, an essay, part of a memoir, a short story, or a play. Once you’ve written and revised to your liking, then be sure to send your work out in the world – or at least share in comments if you’re so inclined.

See you again Wednesday!

3 thoughts on “Writing Prompt Pit Stop: Crash & Burn

  1. Hi Lylanne, ‘Circumstances Change’ – a poem composed from the words in this week’s post.

    ~

    Circumstances Change

    I’ve been grading past events
    as good or dismal.
    In hope – that’s how I’ve been living lately –
    of all the ‘good’ things to come.

    ~

    Lewis 🙂

  2. People say you learn from your adversity, but the only thing I learned was to avoid adversity..lol…I love your Pit Stops! This is one of the most original ideas I have seen someone come up with…very cool!

Leave a Reply

