Writing Prompt Pit Stop: Being Thankful in a Thankless World

Welcome to Writing Prompt Pit Stop! It’s that time again, here in the U.S., where we’re supposed to take a break from our busy lives and give thanks for everything we have. I have no problem with that at all, except that it seems that we’re being pretty hypocritical if that’s the only time of year that we do it…it’s kind of like the people that only go to church services on Christmas or Easter, or expect to be appreciated for things that they do for others, when they rarely take time to tell anyone “thanks” themselves. I’m not really getting on my soapbox, these are just things that have been weighing on my mind of late. I’ve been extra thankful “of late” and not because it’s the season to do so. I just feel good about the life choices I’ve made lately, and about how I’ve been able to rise above a lot of depressing and low times. This has been quite a year of change, and it’s taken a lot of bad things happening to make me appreciate all that I do have. After all, I have my health…, I have my parents, my daughters, and my grandchildren, who are all healthy and happy, I have so many great, loyal friends, I have my three kitties, who are healthy, I have teaching jobs that I love, I have been blessed with talents…art and writing, I’m getting to direct a one-act play for the first time, and I’ve had so many good opportunities. I don’t take any of these things for granted, and I have found my way back to a spirituality that’s always been within. So, after having such a difficult August 2013-August 2014, I’ve found hope and purpose. It was just a year ago in this very blog I wrote “Temporarily Un-thankful or Thanks for Nothing…Yet” and I was asking you to write about life’s major disappointments. This year, I want to change it up and ask you to write about life’s major joys. Here are your fifty-fifth Writing Prompts:

“Being Thankful in a Thankless World”

1) In your daybook, write down some of the most joyful moments of your life. It could be anything from your wedding day, the birth of a child, to the first time you drove a car, drew your first picture, wrote your first poem…or maybe it is just seeing a beautiful sunrise or sunset. No matter, write down what it is…then choose one of those moments and write for 10 minutes or until you exhaust the topic.

2) You see those lists on Facebook…writing down each day three things you’re thankful for. Instead of posting it there, write a list in your daybook of what/who you’re most thankful for. Each day, choose one and write something about why that you’re thankful for that thing or person. A twist could be to do one of these lists for a character that you’re working with in a novel, story, or play. It might be amazing what you find out about the character.

3) Think about someone or something that you take for granted, and write about what life would be without them/that. Go where you’ve not gone before.

4) And, of course there’s always got to be some conflict when you’re doing any kind of creative writing...so write down the times that you’ve felt like you weren’t appreciated in this “thankless world.” Then take one of those times and turn it into a poem, a story, or a play.

5) If you feel up to it, I’m always open to any sharing of your work, or comments on the blog…or you can contact me at lylanne@lylanne.com

I’m coming upon the end of the semester, so ideally I’ll get to writing here weekly again in mid-December! 🙂

One thought on “Writing Prompt Pit Stop: Being Thankful in a Thankless World

  1. Here you go little lady! Here are my random thoughts that you prompted…lol

    I am thankful for loss. All my life I’ve lost. I know that sounds funny. We are supposed to accumulate. Hoarding stuff ‘til we are about to pop. The only thing I have been able to keep is my chub. That’s ok though, while I walk around in a t-shirt others are walking around bundled in coats, to keep their skinny butts warm.
    I could list it all but it would make you cry so I will just mention a few times I lost and it hurt, it really did. I felt floored. My breath was taken away and I sat slowly down and cried. It took weeks to stop feeling numb, months to feel better and years to get over it.
    I used to write song that I made up in my head in a tablet. I never showed anyone. I had a boyfriend who liked to talk to me about everything and anything. I was floating on air to talk endlessly and be heard. I grabbed my tablet and was so excited to show him and he said to show him after a play that we were going to, so I tucked it under my chair and forgot. I never got to show him, and with it went my inspiration. All my hard work was gone in an instant; that was a blow. I really liked that tablet full of my random thoughts.
    I had a job when I was a teenager and I worked really hard. I bought myself new cloths and I hung them on the porch to dry and someone stole them. The only clothes I had left were the clothes on my back. I don’t know why, but I got really inspired that day to wash all my clothes. I really liked those clothes. I had a pair of pants with pineapples on them, they were really cool.
    I moved to Indiana on a spur of the moment decision in 2008. I left my daughters behind to bring my things, and everything I had got stolen. That is the short version of the drama. They took my clothes, my furniture, and my newspaper writings that were my most prize accomplishment, my sewing machine, and my glasses. I really liked that sewing machine.
    I think about where I am now and what of all that stuff that I would have now; it would be none of that stuff. Putting value on that stuff gave it the ability to cause me to experience loss. Until I stopped wanting it anymore was I able to let go of loss. I’ve never been rich and I don’t think I ever will be, but now I know if I lose it all again, I will be alright. And there will be other things, other days other chances. I don’t have to hold on to today, there will be another one tomorrow.
    I like to use a lot of I’s in my writing. It’s not politically correct, but neither am I. Although this creative writing I’ve done here does not sound rhythmic or deep, I managed to start every paragraph with I. There is my theme and connective thread. My random thought diary is done. No big point, no stylish writing, no flair; just a few thoughts that are not permanent, just fleeting. Those too I will lose.

Leave a Reply

