Writing Prompt Pit Stop: Songs of the Season

Welcome to Writing Prompt Pit Stop! For me this time of year means the end of the semester, and another chunk of classes to grade…and this particular semester that means eight classes! However, I’ve been doing some bit by bit, and I’ve got it all planned out to do some each day to save my sanity. The other happenings this time of year are the celebrations of the season, and whether you celebrate Christmas, as I do, or Hanukkah, or Kwanzaa...,it usually is a time of year that is looked forward to. One of my favorite things this time of year, besides the pretty lights everywhere, are Christmas Carols. I remember learning them as a child and loving to sing them, and I still do. If memory serves me, one of the first songs I memorized and was able to sing as a child was “Away in the Manger,” and then there was “Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer,” etc. I also remember hearing on the radio Santa Looked A Lot Like Daddy,” by Buck Owens, and thinking that song was so funny (I was 8 or 9!). Songs bring joy and memories, and especially the special songs that are tied to this time of year. By the same token, they can also evoke sadness…at the loss of loved ones, a relationship that ended, or a sense of loneliness if you don’t have others to celebrate the season with. Again, it’s an example of how powerful words can be. So, for your 56th Writing Prompt Pit Stop Prompt(s) I thought if would be fun to re-imagine or create new songs for the season!

“Tis the Season…to Write a New Song!”

1) In your daybook, write a list of Christmas Carols, Kwanzaa, or Hanukkah songs that you’re familiar with and love the melody. After making your list, pick one of your favorites and re-write a new lyric to it…share it with others, turn it into a poem, or add it to a story you’re writing.

2) Make up a brand new song, either serious or humorous, religious or secular. Think of the song by Buck Owens that I mentioned earlier, or “Grandma Got Run Over By a Reindeer.” Why can’t you come up with a new “classic?”

3) I mentioned recalling the first Christmas Carol that I learned. Do you remember what Holiday Song you learned first as a child? How old were you? Did you learn it for school, church, or just because you wanted to? Do your still sing that song today? Why or why not?

4) Switch it up, is there a Christmas Carol or Holiday Song that you don’t think you can hear one more time? It’s played or sung to death, and you wish you would never hear it again? Why? Was there too much exposure, or was it connected to some event in your life that was not a good one? Write about it. Maybe have your character in a story make this “confession” if you don’t want to make it your own.

5) If you feel up to it, I’m always open to any sharing of your work, or comments on the blog…or you can contact me at lylanne@lylanne.com

In between grading, I’m hoping to be back here again next week! 🙂

One thought on “Writing Prompt Pit Stop: Songs of the Season

  1. You’re gonna kick my butt…but here it is!

    A fleeting whisper, did I hear that
    Was there a sound, on my neck a chill
    A flicker from the lamp light,
    By the time I knew I loved you
    You were already gone
    I grasp back, Nothing there
    A lifetime in a moment,
    I should have grabbed it, But I didn’t know
    The pain that would fill My heart
    Like the driven snow, so encompassing
    There’s nothing left
    Emptiness surrounds
    People passing round me, Singing Christmas carols
    But my pain blocks the moment, I can’t hear a sound
    You are gone and it’s Christmas
    I didn’t know I would miss you so
    I didn’t know every year, the pain would only grow
    Through the month. Hold my breath and cloud my mind
    I’ll look away, 31 days or so
    Thank God it’s almost over. Another Christmas I cannot bear.
    But next year’s coming, and no matter how many years goes by
    The flood gates will be buckling,
    To sweep me away once more.
    On Christmas day I’ll think of you
    And wish I knew how much I was going to miss your voice
    And told you one more time, that I truly loved you
    I wish that I could see you, just one more time.
    Merry Christmas my brother
    Who left me long ago.

Leave a Reply

