Writing Prompt Pit Stop: PoMoSco # 12 Chance Walk

Welcome to Writing Prompt Pit Stop! Today is day 12 of  PoMoSco prompts during National Poetry Month, and this one involved one of the “Chance Operations,” which was a “Chance Walk.” I was in downtown Toledo and I had to walk a ways to my destination, so I figured what better time to put my “chance walk” to use. I knew where I needed to go, but I hadn’t planned on parking so far away! Then when I walked back, I took a turn instead of returning to my car…and ended up at the place Corporal Klinger made Toledo famous for: Tony Packo’s. Here is my poem for today, “Free Spirit Event (Toledo).”

Here is the Day 12 prompt, Chance Walk:

Go for a walk, copying down text from all of the signage you pass by. At each intersection, or at a point where you would normally make a choice of which direction to go, flip a coin to determine your new direction and continue copying text down as you go. Craft a poem from the words you collect on your walk.

Variant: If you don’t live in a location conducive to this and/or can’t bear the winter weather, choose an indoor location where there’s lots of space and different directions one might head — such as a museum.

Post your completed poem to the site, accompanied by a citation of where you took your walk.

The Found Poetry Review. PoMoSco. Prompt 12. 12 Apr 2015.

Leave a Reply

