NaPoWriMo #1 – Lune

Welcome to Writing Prompt Pit Stop! Well, I’m finally getting around to deciding if I’m up for the challenge of NaPoWriMo this year, after spending two years participating in The Found Poetry Review‘s Challenges, I was contemplating not doing anything as “formal” as putting myself out there every day with a poem from a prompt during National Poetry Month – but let’s face it, I can’t pass up a good challenge – especially when it comes to writing, and poems in particular. So, I’m late in the day to the game, but I’m putting myself out there again. I’m going to follow a poem prompt posted somewhere on the challenge boards each day, post my poem here and share the prompt that I used. To kick it off I’m going with NaPoWriMo’s prompt of writing a Lune. In all of my years of writing poems, I’ve never tried this one, as I don’t believe I’ve ever heard of it! So, here’s my poem, “The Truth”:

The Truth

April always guilts a poet:                                                                                                                                 put words on                                                                                                                                        or stand naked and alone.

Here’s the prompt found at napowrimo.net:

This is a sort of English-language haiku. While the haiku is a three-line poem with a 5-7-5 syllable count, the lune is a three-line poem with a 5-3-5 syllable count. There’s also a variant based on word-count, instead of syllable count, where the poem still has three lines, but the first line has five words, the second line has three words, and the third line has five words again. Either kind will do, and you can write a one-lune poem, or write a poem consisting of multiple stanzas of lunes.

Give it a try!!

Keep writing and I’ll see you back here tomorrow!

Lylanne

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo #1 – Lune

  1. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – Day 1 – “True Colours” by David Ellis | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

