NaPoWriMo #2 – Family Portrait

Welcome to Writing Prompt Pit Stop! It’s day two of NaPoWriMo and today’s challenge from the same site as I used yesterday, was to use a family portrait as a prompt. So, I’ve written a lot about my parents and grandparents in poems, but not so much about my daughters…so they get a nod here (and they don’t know it yet, but in another poem that will be featured at an event in Indy later this year). I will post my poem, the photo that I took it from, and then the prompt that I used. Here’s my poem, “Circa 1982”:

Circa 1982

A cherished photo
takes me away
from present day
distances – not of hearts
but of miles. The years
measure the most
enduring love filling
my life: two daughters
smiling impishly along with
me, their young mother,
at the camera, so happy
together in Indiana –
in our home, always filled
with laughter and ease,
us three, happy still
photos show throughout
years of growth, and grand-
children – they grow up
so fast. In a flash
of quickly snapped photo-
graphs: my life, my loves,
the best of my past, preserved.

MothersDay150005

1982

Here is prompt #2:

Write a poem that takes the form of a family portrait. You could write, for example, a stanza for each member of your family. You could also find an actual snapshot of your family and write a poem about it, spending a little bit of time on each person in the picture. You don’t need to observe any particular form or meter.

Have fun writing!

Lylanne

 

 

One thought on “NaPoWriMo #2 – Family Portrait

  1. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – Day 2 – “Some Of Us Die Heroes” by David Ellis | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

