NaPoWriMo #3 – Fan Letter

Welcome to Writing Prompt Pit Stop! It appears that even with all of the other prompt opportunities out there each day, I’ve been sticking with the ones provided by NaPoWriMo – at least so far. I can’t promise that I won’t stray and do something different one of these April days, but here we are on day 3 already and I took their challenge again. This time it was to write a fan letter to a celebrity. I could have easily written to any one of my favorites of all time, such as Kurt Vonnegut, Frank O’Hara, The Beatles, Carly Simon…well the list goes on far and wide…but I felt, today, that those may be too predictable, so I went another way…even though it’s still a fan letter. So, below you will find my poem, “Solving Mysteries,” followed by the prompt that I used. Enjoy!

Solving Mysteries

I barely remember Bess Marvin,
or Ned Nickerson, the token
boy. Alliteration was all
he was good for. Nothing
in my eyes, could top

                                   The Mystery of the 99 Steps,
and adventures with George,
except the 42 volumes
that came before, in my books,

read over and over again;
I spent so many hours
with you, teaching me:
girls could be cool,
                                    independent, smart,
                                    always solving clues –

me dreaming of being like you,
or your hero sidekick; swapping
secrets with my favorite sleuth:
Nancy Drew.

Here’s Prompt #3 from NaPoWriMo:

Today, let’s turn our vision outward, and write fan letters. I challenge you to write a poem in the form of a fan letter to a celebrity. Now, this could be a celebrity from long ago, and needn’t be an actor or singer (though it could be). You could write to George Washington or Dorothy Dandridge, Marie Curie or The Weeknd.

I haven’t mentioned, but if you try something and want to share – go ahead and post it in comments below! See you tomorrow!

Keep Writing,

Lylanne

Leave a Reply

