NaPoWriMo #5 – Heirloom Seeds

Welcome to Writing Prompt Pit Stop! Today is Day 5 of NaPoWriMo, and this was a real challenge to come up with something on this proposed prompt. I almost just opted to go to another site and find another prompt, or just write a poem of my own for day 5. The prompt was to use “heirloom” seeds/plants in poems in some way. I’m not a gardener by any means. I don’t have a green thumb, and never have been interested in taking it up as a hobby. Yes, I do love what gardens produce, and have many memories of my grandma’s garden, and helping her with it – and I confess…I have had a garden here or there in the past of my own…but it’s not a love that I have to have in my life. So, that’s where the internet comes in handy with seed names. I perused the Burpee Seed catalog, and the Southern Exposure Seed Exchange for ideas to work with – finally, here with less than an hour in day 5 left – I have my poem. Below you will find “Fire in the Sky” with all seed names in italics, and then the original prompt follows. Enjoy!
Fire in the Sky

Del Sol,
in a Solar Flash,
Chianti kissed,
the Bashful Ms.
Mars, melted
Coconut Ice
Glaciers, and
moved Candy
Mountains, she
started dreaming
of Big Rainbows
and a future
Sunny Bunch.

Hillbilly Neptune
her former Honey
Bear, Sweetie pie,
for the last Quarter
Century, had other
ideas about her
Super Choice,
vowed a Country
Gentleman’s revenge;

challenged the “Big
Red Ripper,” to an
Iron and Clay rumble,
at next week’s Scarlet
Ohno Revival. A promise
to give the universe
a Cosmic Eclipse
blinded by a broken heart.

Here is the Day 5 prompt:

Today, I challenge you to spend some time looking at the names of heirloom plants, and write a poem that takes its inspiration from, or incorporates the name of, one or more of these garden rarities. To help you out, here are links to the Southern Exposure Seed Exchange and the Baker Creek Seed Company. Also, here’s a hint – tomatoes seem to be prime territory for elaborate names. And who knows, maybe you’ll even find something to plant in your garden!

If you get anything that you’d like to share, please do in the comments below.

Keep writing!

Lylanne

One thought on “NaPoWriMo #5 – Heirloom Seeds

  1. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – Day 5 – “Heir Today, Gone With The Wind Tomorrow” by David Ellis | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

