NaPoWriMo #8 – Flowers

Welcome to Writing Prompt Pit Stop! We’ve already passed the one week mark of National Poetry Month. I have to say time is flying, but it always does. All I know is it’s supposed to be spring, the NaPoWriMo prompt today is to write about a flower(s), and it is nothing like spring! Here in MI, we’re supposed to get 3-5″ of snow overnight. Ugh! Anyway, I keep telling myself it really is April. Okay, onward – I chose to write about a flower that I haven’t seen much since my childhood: Honeysuckle. It’s intertwined with memories of my grandma. So, below is my poem, “Sweet Memories,” and then the original prompt follows. Enjoy!

 
Sweet Memories

Recently, when I read
that “honeysuckle
signifies happiness,”
it was no surprise to me,
even though I haven’t
seen the twisted vines
covered in the tiny flowers,
in quite some time.

A time I do remember
is of how those thick vined
plants shaded my grand-
parent’s front porch like walls,
and in early June sprouted
fragrant flowers that bloomed
to look like golden stars, shaggy
spiders, or shiny bells, it all
depended on my youthful
imagination any given day.

I spent a lot of days playing
on that Indiana porch; hidden
from the blazing sun; safe
from the trembling thunder.
A sweet memory: my always
cautious grandma allowing
me to suck nectar from
the honeysuckle petals,
a tale I lived to tell –
about the flowering plant
that attracted hummingbirds,
bees, and me.

Here is the Day 8 NaPoWriMo prompt:

It’s Friday, and writing poems isn’t easy! So let’s give ourselves a break with a simple prompt today. Poets have been writing about flowers since, oh, the dawn of time. So today, I challenge you to add your own poem to this long tradition, by finding a flower, and versifying in its honor.

If you get something that you want to share, please share in the comments below!

Keep writing!

Lylanne

One thought on “NaPoWriMo #8 – Flowers

  1. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – Day 8 – “Vulnerable Delight” by David Ellis | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

