NaPoWriMo #9 – A Scary Line

Welcome to Writing Prompt Pit Stop! Today is Day 9 of NaPoWriMo, and the prompt today was one that I considered running away from. The truth is most friends know a lot about my life, and know me, so there’s not a whole lot that I’m afraid to share. And, I’ve even shared more than some would like in other poems. But, in thinking of something that “scares” me right now…I feel that is more essay material than a poem. Yet, I like challenges – and I know that I didn’t take this poem to it’s “scariest” point, but it does scratch the surface. The poem is a result of that “surface” which at the heart of the matter is money…and being “stuck” in academia’s adjunct teaching circuit – which ironically doesn’t get mentioned in the poem, but I know it will eventually. Anyway, because I need to get back to grading…I wanted to get this written and posted. So, here goes my poem…“No Couch Counseling,”  and then followed by the day’s prompt. Enjoy…or not!

No Couch Counseling

I’m nearly 60,
and I don’t
own a couch,
or a living room
set. I’ve had plenty
of couches in my past,
but left them behind
in bad relationships,
or much needed divorces.

It’s the positive, I do
tend to embrace:
my beloved cats
waiting inside the door,
gracing me with their
presence, my art,
my books, the warmth,
a roof over my head.

Yet, each time I walk
into my apartment, the lack
of a comfy place to kick back
and relax reminds me
of choices I’ve made –
the good, the bad,
the unsettled.

The Day 9 NaPoWriMo prompt:

This one sounds simple, but it can be pretty difficult. Today, I challenge you to write a poem that includes a line that you’re afraid to write. This might be because it expresses something very personal that makes you uncomfortable – either because of its content (“I always hated grandma”), or because it seems too emotional or ugly or strange (“I love you so much I would eat a cockroach for you”). Or even because it sounds too boring or expected (“You know what? I like cooking noodles and going to bed at 7 p.m.”). But it should be something that you’re genuinely a little scared to say.

If you want to share something, you can always do that in the comments below.

Keep writing!

Lylanne

3 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo #9 – A Scary Line

  1. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – Day 9 – “Every Dawn You’re Surprising” by David Ellis | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

