NaPoWriMo #10 – Book Spine Poem

Welcome to Writing Prompt Pit Stop! Day 10 already of NaPoWriMo, and after yesterday’s more trying prompt, this one was a piece of cake – seeing as it deals with books, and as I wrote in my poem about possessions yesterday (or the lack of!), I have tons of books that move all around with me. So, the prompt is to write a Book Spine Poem, and I perused one of my favorite shelves, and came up with a combination I liked pretty quickly – so without further ado, here is my poem “The English Major,” the photo that shows the stack in the order that I selected, and the actual prompt to follow along with if you’re so inclined!

The English Major

Welcome To The Monkey House
Early Writing
I Was Told There’d Be Cake
A Life in the Arts
Wry Harvest
Don’t Just Applaud-Send Money!

IMG_0107

Day 1o NaPoWriMo Prompt:

I know yesterday’s was a hard one for many of you, although I also was also very touched by the vulnerability and bravery displayed in your poems! But today’s prompt should be a little bit less emotionally involving — a nice chaser for yesterday. Today’s prompt comes to us from Lillian Hallberg. She challenges us to write a “book spine” poem. This involves taking a look at your bookshelves, and writing down titles in order (or rearranging the titles) to create a poem. Some fun images of book spine poems can be found here. If you want to take things a step further, Lillian suggests gathering a list of titles from your shelves (every third or fifth book, perhaps, if you have a lot) and using the titles, as close to the originals as possible, to create a poem that is seeded throughout with your own lines, interjections, and thoughts.

If you get something you’d like to share, feel free to in the comments below!

Keep writing!

Lylanne

3 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo #10 – Book Spine Poem

  1. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – Day 10 – “Soul Music The Colour Of Magic” by David Ellis | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

