NaPoWriMo #13 – Beat the Bad Luck Away

Welcome to Writing Prompt Pit Stop! Here we are at Day 13 of NaPoWriMo, and the challenge today was that since 13 is often associated with “bad luck” to take that idea and twist it around. So the idea here was to write a poem by using fortune cookie sayings…either real, or made up. Because Wednesday is a long teaching day for me, I didn’t have a lot of time to sit and come up with original fortunes…although, that will be a fun exercise another day…so I just happened to have had Chinese food last night with a fortune cookie, so I had that one handy…then the rest I found at a fortune cookie generator. Did you know there was such a thing? I didn’t, until I searched for one! So, I took the luck of the generator and wrote down a list of sayings. I didn’t add anything to the the lines…and arranged them until I came up with something that I liked. The title is the only thing “original,” So, here is “Living a Fortune Cookie Life,” and the prompt right below it. Enjoy!

Living a Fortune Cookie Life

Don’t rush through life, pause and enjoy it.
Open your mind and your heart to good things.
Don’t wait for success to come – go find it!
Everything will work out for the best.
Your hard work will be rewarded.
Move quickly. Now is the time to make progress.
Learn from your mistakes. Try not to make them again.
Just have fun.
Look in the mirror without admiring your reflection.
You will soon receive a surprise from your lover.
Face the truth with dignity.

The Day 13 NaPoWriMo Prompt:

The number 13 is often considered unlucky, so today I’d like to challenge you to beat the bad luck away with a poem inspired by fortune cookies. You could write a poem made up entirely of statements that predict the future (“You will meet a handsome stranger”), aphoristic statements (“The secret to getting ahead is getting started)” or just silly questions (“How much deeper would the ocean be without sponges?”) Or you could use a phrase you’ve actually received in a real fortune cookie as a title or first line. However you proceed, I hope you will feel fortunate in the results (do you get it? Do you get it? Rimshot, please).

If you get anything that you want to share, post in the comments below.

Keep writing!

Lylanne

One thought on “NaPoWriMo #13 – Beat the Bad Luck Away

  1. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – Day 13 -“Let Your Passions Take Your Breath Away” by David Ellis | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

