NaPoWriMo #14 – Time Out

Welcome to Writing Prompt Pit Stop! Well, it’s happened. I did not follow the NaPoWriMo prompt today (although, I will post it at the end of this post as well). Instead, I turned to the Writer’s Digest April PAD Challenge and used their prompt…so essentially I took a “time-out” from writing a form poem as asked by NaPoWriMo’s site. And, by coincidence that was the prompt from the PAD challengea Time Out Poem. As anyone knows that follows this blog – I teach writing classes as an adjunct, and have done that for 10 years. I also, to “make a living,” teach anywhere from 7-10 classes a semester. My poem today reflects the way I feel at this moment as this semester is coming to an end. My poem is titled “Time (Out) for a Change,” the PAD prompt, and then the NaPoWriMo prompt (of which I will write eventually, as it sounds fun…I just knew I didn’t have time to work with it today).

Time (Out) for a Change

Sometimes there
comes a break-
ing point and
I’m on the verge.

It’s time for me
to regroup and re-
assess this over-
bearing feeling
of burnout. I’m tired

of working hard
for nothing to save,
or spend, or feel
secure. It’s time
for me to take
a timeout,

before I break
and waste the
chance of change –
put myself back
on track. Make a living
of fun, not fractured
by stress.

The Day 14 April PAD prompt:

For today’s prompt, write a time out poem. There are moments in my life that I wish I could take a time out. For instance, it would’ve been nice earlier this year when I had pneumonia, but life and work keeps chugging along. But there’s always a chance to take time outs in poetry if you dare. So dare to write a time out poem (or two) today.

The Day 14 NaPoWriMo prompt:

Today’s prompt comes to us from TJ Kearney, who invites us to try a eight-line poem called a san san, which means “three three” in Chinese (It’s also a term of art in the game Go). The san san has some things in common with the tritina, including repetition and rhyme. In particular, the san san repeats, three times, each of three terms or images. The eight lines rhyme in the pattern a-b-c-a-b-d-c-d.

Here’s an example san san from TJ’s blog, Bag of Anything:

Drinking the driven storm, the sturdy apple
Dances, between sky and earth, her spring-young leaves.
Knowing no purpose, knowing only season,
Her spring-young leaves, storm-driven, dapple
Earth and sky; all that my eye perceives
Dances. My eye drinks in the apple’s spring-
Young leaves, her dance that has no reason:
Only the storm, driving each dappled thing.

As you can see, three images or terms are repeated: the driven storm; the spring-young leaves; the dance, and the seven lines rhyme per the pattern given above. I hope you have fun giving the san san a try.

If you want to share any poem that you write from the prompts, post in comments!

Keep writing!

Lylanne

Leave a Reply

