NaPoWriMo #17 – International Haiku Day

Welcome to Writing Prompt Pit Stop! It’s Day 17 of National Poetry Month and, coincidentally, it’s International Haiku Day, so I followed the April PAD Challenge of writing a haiku today, and am again saving the NaPoWriMo prompt for a later date. In fact, I was thinking today…that after April is over that I will come back in and pick up the prompt challenges that I haven’t written for one, or the other, of these two places and give them a go. It will just give me more poems to work with later on down the road, right? Ideally, anyway! So here’s my poem (even though haiku doesn’t necessarily have a title), “Out on a Limb,” the prompt I used, and the one from Napowrimo to use later:

Out on a Limb

My cats and I share
a big love of bird watching:
sweet tweets of our hearts.

The Day 17 April PAD Challenge prompt:

Today is International Haiku Poetry Day! Click here to check out a post from The Haiku Foundation. So guess what we’re doing today?

For today’s prompt, write a haiku. Simple as that. Or well, if you’d prefer, write a poem about haiku; I’ve done this before. So that’s an option too; or write about poetic forms in general.

The Day 17 NaPoWriMo prompt:

Today, I challenge you to find, either on your shelves or online, a specialized dictionary. This could be, for example, a dictionary of nautical terms, or woodworking terms, or geology terms. Anything, really, so long as it’s not a standard dictionary! Now write a poem that incorporates at least ten words from your specialized source.

If you get any poems from the prompts that you want to share, post in comments!

Keep writing!

Lylanne

Leave a Reply

