NaPoWriMo #20 – Kennings Poem

Welcome to Writing Prompt Pit Stop! It’s Day 20 of National Poetry Month and because I had more time today since my MW classes ended on M, I could work with the NaPoWriMo prompt. It was a unique one, writing a Kennings Poem, and that was certainly a poem form that I had not worked in before. I have to admit it’s fun to play with, and I love my poem that came from the prompt. Since I’ve posted both prompts when I did the April PAD Challenge, I will post my poem, “My Favorite Author,” the prompt I used, and then the PAD Challenge prompt as well today. Enjoy!

My Favorite Author

Pall-Mall smoker,
satirical joker,
technology hater,
Kilgore Trout creator…

(To read the rest of this poem, contact me at lylanne@lylanne.com or look for it at Flying Island in November 2016!)

Day 20 NaPoWriMo Prompt:

Today’s prompt comes to us from Vince Gotera, who suggests a prompt very much in keeping with our poet in translation, a “kenning” poem. Kennings were riddle-like metaphors used in the Norse sagas. Basically, they are ways of calling something not by its actual name, but by a sort of clever, off-kilter description — for example, the sea would be called the “whale road.” Today, I challenge you to think of a single thing or person (a house, your grandmother, etc), and then write a poem that consists of kenning-like descriptions of that thing or person. For example, you might call a cat a mouse-stalker, quiet-walker, bird-warner, purr-former, etc. If you’re looking for examples, you can find one that Vince wrote here and a different example here.

Day 20 PAD Challenge prompt:

For today’s prompt, write a poem of what goes unsaid. Maybe it’s unrequited love, a hidden contempt, spoiler to the most recent TV show or blockbuster movie. Whatever goes unsaid, maybe write it instead.

If you want to share a poem or a thought, leave a comment below.

Keep writing!

Lylanne

 

Leave a Reply

