NaPoWriMo #21 – Response Poem

Welcome to Writing Prompt Pit Stop! Today is Day 21 of National Poetry Month, and I had intended to use the NaPoWriMo prompt today, but instead I saw what the April PAD Challenge prompt was and decided to go that way instead. Today was Poem in Your Pocket day, and this was a chance to take a line from a poem and respond to it. I could have gone with a plethora of poets that I know and love their work, but I decided to go with a poet that I don’t know much about, and who was listed as one of the poets on the PAD Challenge, Jamaal May. I indeed liked his poem, and decided to work off of it. Granted this poem of mine is a little rough, but I think it’s one that I will work more with. Here is my poem, “Sitting in the Catbird Seat,” the prompt used, and the napowrimo prompt:

Sitting in the Catbird Seat
“When they said those birds were metaphors”
– after Jamaal May

She told me, years ago, I should be flying
as high as those eagles in the sky,
but in those days I felt fallen,
a woman without wings, uncertain,
unwilling to sing my own tune.

Later, it took years of nesting –
as a Ball State Cardinal,
where a little birdie told me
I was migratory, I could soar,
I could ruffle some feathers,

my writings weren’t all chicken scratch,
to free my hen pecked mind,
get all my ducks in a row,
spread my wings!

My old friend was wise
as an owl back in the day –
when I was a spring chick, and didn’t
realize I really could soar.

Day 21 April PAD Challenge prompt:

Today is Poem in Your Pocket Day! It’s a day to pick a poem to carry in your pocket and share spontaneously throughout your day. Click here to learn more.

For today’s prompt, write a poem that responds (or somehow communicates) with another poem. You can respond to any poem. If you’re having trouble figuring out which one, choose a poem from this following list of poems from collections I’ve been reading this month:

Day 21 napowrimo prompt:

Today I challenge you to write a poem in the voice of minor character from a fairy tale or myth. Instead of writing from the point of view of Cinderella, write from the point of view of the mouse who got turned into a coachman. Instead of writing from the point of view of Orpheus or Eurydice, write from the point of view of one of the shades in Hades who watched Eurydice leave and then come back.

If you get anything that you’d like to share, post in comments below!

Keep writing!

Lylanne

Leave a Reply

